The Charles Kernot Mining Analyst of the Year Award

For many years, the London Mining Club has proudly organised and sponsored this annual award recognising excellence in equity research within the mining sector. The award is named after the preeminent London-based mining analyst Charles Kernot, and is awarded to the UK-based mining (or commodities) analyst who has made a stand-out individual performance over the past 12 months. The Award is typically presented at the end of every year during the Mines and Money Conference Gala Dinner.

The winner is picked by an independent judging panel made up of 5 London-based natural resources fund managers and is chaired by an LMC committee member.

Recent winners:

2020 - Ian Rossouw, Barclays Capital

2019 - Susan Bates, Morgan Stanley

2018 - Menno Sanderse, Morgan Stanley

2017 - Jonathan Guy, Numis Securities

2016 - Des Kilalea, RBC Capital Markets

2015 - Micheal Stoner, Peel Hunt

2014 - Brock Salier, GMP Securities

2013 - Tyler Broda, Nomura


Deal of the Year - Mines & Money London 

From 2019, The London Mining Club is responsible for judging the Deal of the Year Award, which is also presented at the annual Mines and Money Conference Gala Dinner

A shortlist of nominees are put forward by external submission. An independent judging panel, made up of 5 London based natural resources fund managers, chaired by a LMC committee member are formed to decide on the winner.

Recent Winners:

2020: No award

2019: Atlantic Gold - Acquisition of Atlantic Gold by St Barbara